• 1 Post By Dave
  • 1 Post By mcmonkey mcbean
  • 2 Post By grahamspc

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-17-2017, 09:13 PM Thread Starter

Garage
New R12R owner here in sunny AZ!

Hi all,

Normally I don't bother with joining MC forums, but I'm so darn excited by my new bike that I just had to find a community of like minded individuals to keep in touch with. I've had Cordelia (actually named from the color: Cordoba Blue) for less than 2 weeks. I've all but forgotten my Xterra Well, not really. I love my X too, just awful fuel economy.

So, here's a little history...

I've been riding since 2001. I started on a '96 Honda VT600 (VLX) that I picked up for a steal ($1000, needed repair but came with new forks). I rebuilt the bike, repainted it (a horrible yellow using krylon canned spray paint) and rode it for something like 4 years. I eventually sold it and "upgraded" to a 2000 Honda CB750 Nighthawk. Had that for a few years, then sold it.. and didn't replace it It wasn't the best bike in the world, but reliable. I just wasn't riding much and didn't feel confident on it. In any case, I didn't ride for 3 years until I got divorced, so it was back in the saddle again with a 2003 Harley XL1200C Sportster. Nice bike, super comfortable, excellent fuel economy, but absolutely no grin factor. Still not knowing what I wanted, I traded it in on a 2005 R1200RT. I didn't like it that much. Heavy, but handled well, and decent power compared to the Sportster. I also had a run-in with the law, traffic wise that made it impossible to drive for a bit So, I sold the beemer. After my legal issues subsided, I bought the bike that really taught me to ride, a 2007 Honda CB900 919. That bike was awesome! So light, flickable, and the first time in my life I challenged myself to take some risks and really push the limits of my motorcycle. I got it for a steal as well at $3600, one of the best deals of my life. Unfortunately, Candy (she was Candy Apple Red) was stolen after only 21 m