BMW R1200R Forum banner

gentle off road tuition

5K views 18 replies 9 participants last post by  Grobb 
#1 ·
During my many road trips into Europe I have come across several unmade roads or roads being repaired and don't have the confidence I would like when on them. I don't think I need full on off road tuition, just some advice/practice on hard dirt or gravel. Are there any recommendations for anyone in the South West England area giving such tuition? Thanks.

#2 · (Edited)
https://davethorpehondaoffroad.com/about/

They were based in South Wales but moved 2 years ago. Fantastic days training from total beginner to professional. They provide all the gear, relaxed and friendly when I did it. When picking your bike for the day, walk around them and grab one with more square profile chunkies, mine were a bit rounded and due for a change and much less grip. I'd noticed some other blokes looking around them before selecting, now I know why.

#5 ·
I agree 100% I was a bit nervous about it before hand but there was no need to worry, they teach you the basics then ask who's ridden off road before (2 people had never even ridden a bike before so just stayed doing basic skills but had fun) Split you into groups and watch you go around one of 3 tracks depending on experience. They give some more advice then sort out the group's and you go out for a ride in the countryside. I rode on all different surfaces including some road, truly was an enduro day.

Even had a chat with Chaz Davies and Michael Laverty who were doing some off road training at the venue.

#7 ·
Strange, any riders that are predominantly 'off road' riders that belong and come riding in the local 'road' bike club, ride more upright than the dedicated road bike riders.
Don't like leaning into the corners, and look uncomfortable and uptight.

Yet if I ride my road bike on a metal road.....i'm uptight.

Just a observation :smile2:

Reactions: sturgeon
#8 ·