BMW R1200R Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2017 R1200R
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, new member here. I pick up my new-to-me 2017 R1200R tomorrow, and I'm pretty geeked about it.

My last bike was a 2006 Triumph R3 Classic. Nice bike, but I discovered I'm just not a cruiser guy at heart. And any of you familiar with the 1st gen R3's know how big and cumbersome they are. Before the R3, I had a Honda 919 that I absolutely adored, and it's that kind of practical-sport-bike high that I'm chasing now.

I've been riding for nearly twenty years and this will be my first BMW. They've always tugged at the heartstrings a bit, since my parents both hail from Germany, and I've always wanted a BMW of some sort, auto or motorcycle.

Looking forward to spending time here!

·
Dave in NE TN USA
1,641 Posts
Welcome Sausage Creature. Pleasure to meet a fellow Hunter S. Thompson fan.

Hope you enjoy your new-to-you '17 R12R. As your first Beemer you may find as many have that the more you ride it the more you appreciate it. Having said that, I wouldn't kick a Honda 919 out of bed for leaking oil.

Hope you manage to find good riding in your area, with the nearest mountains maybe five hours away.

Cheers! Dave

Reactions: Hndymn

·
Registered
2017 R1200r LC sport.
2,084 Posts
Welcome to the forum Sausage Creature. (y) A picture is required as proof of ownership. :whistle:

·
Dave in NE TN USA
1,641 Posts
Thanks SC. That will also meet the Forum Fingerprint Authentication Requirement. Well done! ;)

Cheers! Dave

Reactions: Panzermann

·
Registered
2017 R1200R
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Initial riding impressions:

1) Motor has more than enough giddyup to keep me entertained. Not quite as much right off the bottom as I expected...stalled it once taking off from a stoplight. Of course my last ride (Triumph Rocket3) had enough low end torque to pull a small house and a much heavier flywheel, so it will take me some time to adjust.