BMW R1200R Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

So I'm relatively new to biking and a pretty much virgin to buying and applying mods.
I've a '18 LC and am starting to make some minor changes. One of them I'm struggling with is the headlight. I find the low beam extremely weak, especially when compared to other motorcycles. The high beam isn't anything to brag about, but one thing at a time.

I've read some of the older threads where people write about potential part substitutes, however, I'd like to find out if anyone has recently changed the lamps/bulbs for something stronger? Maybe LEDs? If so, which parts did you exactly get? How much of an improvement did you notice?
Also, how difficult was the alteration process? I have limited amount of tools and even less making electric modifications on vehicles :frown2:

I appreciate any advise and help.

Thanks.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Welcome. Good choice on the bike and ride safe. This forum is a wealth of info.

What you will run into with your BMW, (and pretty much every modern vehicle) is there is a silly thing called CanBus that monitors and controls EVERY function on the bike. So if you put a different wattage headlight bulb, like a LED, you will get error messages on your dash. Most of us get a product that works with the CanBus system, like HexEZ Can or so, and that allows you to add auxiliary light that won't interfere with the BMW system. I used this method to add Super Bright LED auxiliary lights to help out at night.

Good luck. Happy searching.

·
Super Moderator
4,992 Posts
I went through the effort of trying to fit an LED bulb to high beam. Even then, I had to mould a recess into the headshell back plate to accommodate the bulb’s cooling fins; low beam has even less room. I wasn’t happy with the result (light temp and spread) so went back to stock.