BMW R1200R Forum banner

Its a mental thing...

6K views 16 replies 16 participants last post by  grahamspc 
#1 ·
Over the past several days, I've been practicing technique and style on some curvy, well paved rural roads - most virtually free of any traffic. While I can't time myself, or accurately know speeds, I sense I am significantly more "in tune" on some days, resulting in a smoother, more confident experience. Yesterday, during one of my rides, this post kept rising in my mind. :001_unsure:

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
And another one here who feels like that; some days it's great, and others it can be hard work. I am sure it is to do with personal mood, and perhaps levels of tiredness. For me it's down to concentration: some days I find sticking at it much harder for longer lengths of time. Age? Maybe. RobA.

#5 ·
I've also experienced this, once in a while feeling and riding like an absolute beginner! Strange...

L of S

#6 ·
On a recent trip over to Italy there were some days that took at least an hour or so for me to 'get in the groove' but other days I was on it straight away. I think it's always a matter of taking it easy until you feel right.

#7 ·
It's a mental thing…

But making sure your eye sight is in good health goes a long way.

Over the last few months and at my age, I have noticed my eye sight deteriorating. I wear glasses for computer work etc.
In India…all the lighting was yellow…not good quality long life bulbs….but the lighting was dull, never encouraged me to pick up a book and read by artificial light at night.

Rode out on a short ride today, I was questioning my long sight, could I really detect loose gravel on the road ahead like I yous't to…NO.
Could I detect movement at the side of the road, at long distance…a small animal ready to shoot across the road …NO.
It can put you off your ride mentally, second doubting your sight, riding with poor sight….can dump you off your bike.:frown2: