BMW R1200R Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
3,317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My Navigator VI has finally karked it with the screen now frozen/ not responding. For a few months now the unit was ghosting and just randomly selecting/scrolling different pages. Anyway, I’ve tried master reset, cleaning the screen and all of the fix/hacks. I’ve seen on a number is post a replacement screen will fix the issue. I’ve decided to bite the bullet and buy another unit instead of a screen replacement. I’ve had mine since ‘17. I see there’s a cradle with 4 buttons - has anyone on the got one of these?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Mark – Moderator 2015 R1200R-LC Exclusive
2015 R1200R Exclusive
Joined
·
7,696 Posts
Just take the Nav VI to your BMW dealer, Mike. They'll swap it for a brand new one, no questions asked.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mikeS

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
3,317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, I'll try that first up. Is that an official program, PZ? It would be handy to have a reference point just in case the dealer pushes back.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Dave in NE TN USA
Joined
·
1,669 Posts
Classic NAV VI failure symptoms. See your dealer or contact Garmin, they're standing behind them. Here's the good Nav VI thread:


Those four button NAV cradles are nice. I used to have one on each of my bikes in the pre-whiz wheel days and just swapped the NAV back & forth as needed. If anyone knows where they're still available, I hope they let us know.

Cheers! Dave
 
  • Like
Reactions: mikeS

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,367 Posts
I have one of those old 4-button cradles that I use on my R9T Scrambler. As Dave says, they're the older cradle before wonder-wheel came along. I tried without luck for a few months to find one (5 years ago), then asked the parts guy at my dealer if he could order one. He did one better - turns out he had one in a box in his storeroom that had been there for a while. He just gave it to me, no charge. Works great. Before that I was using a stock Garmin cradle (no buttons), but I hated it. The Nav thing I seem to do most while riding is zoom in and out. The buttons are a lot easier to use than the touch screen. On the Roadster, I just use the wheel, of course.

If your dealer/Garmin won't replace it, perhaps you can get a re-furb unit from Garmin. I did that with an old Zumo 550; the replacement was like new, lasted me another couple of years until I got the Nav as part of a deal when I bought the Roadster. The replacement Zumo was pretty cheap. I sold it to a friend; as far as I know, it's still going, 8 or 9 years later.
 

·
Mark – Moderator 2015 R1200R-LC Exclusive
2015 R1200R Exclusive
Joined
·
7,696 Posts
I walked into my dealer last year with mine, with all my ‘consumer guarantee’ claim words well rehearsed, and I was met with a grin and, ‘Looks like we have another one’.
Service guy filled out the paperwork and added it to a 2 cm pile of others while they waited for stock of updated replacements to come in.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,367 Posts
I walked into my dealer last year with mine, with all my ‘consumer guarantee’ claim words well rehearsed, and I was met with a grin and, ‘Looks like we have another one’.
Service guy filled out the paperwork and added it to a 2 cm pile of others while they waited for stock of updated replacements to come in.
If mine ever dies, I'll get you to write me a script 😁
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
My Navigator VI has finally karked it with the screen now frozen/ not responding. For a few months now the unit was ghosting and just randomly selecting/scrolling different pages. Anyway, I’ve tried master reset, cleaning the screen and all of the fix/hacks. I’ve seen on a number is post a replacement screen will fix the issue. I’ve decided to bite the bullet and buy another unit instead of a screen replacement. I’ve had mine since ‘17. I see there’s a cradle with 4 buttons - has anyone on the got one of these?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I would hook it directly to my computer and do a reboot and update.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
3,317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
As @Panzermann suggested I took my ghosting 5-year-old Navigator VI back to the dealer to hopefully get a replacement. I got a brand new replacement the next day and was so excited but not for long. I unpacked the unit and it too was doing the ghosting random screen selection. Back down to the dealer and replaced my replacement.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
3,317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
As @Panzermann suggested I took my ghosting 5-year-old Navigator VI back to the dealer to hopefully get a replacement. I got a brand new replacement the next day and was so excited but not for long. I unpacked the unit and it too was doing the ghosting random screen selection. Back down to the dealer and replaced my replacement.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Forgot to post a small clip to add some context - this is what my first replacement was doing straight out of the box.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
  • Wow
Reactions: dbyker

·
Mark – Moderator 2015 R1200R-LC Exclusive
2015 R1200R Exclusive
Joined
·
7,696 Posts
Maybe they're using you to test which of their stock has the upgraded screen, Mike. Mike Testrider ...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
My Navigator VI threw a wobbler yesterday, I got it secondhand from a guy on this very forum, it was brand new September 2021….anyway the screen was wobbling about, was impossible to follow a route, it seemed it had gone into simulator mode cos the motorbike icon was travelling up and off the screen before I could catch it, then all sorts of weirdness with zooming in and out….very frustrating. I did an online chat with Garmin….basically they declared there was no known issue with these units and because it’s no longer doing it there’s nothing they can do. Next time can you take a video……mmmm I have a video…..oh ok…….here’s your replacement code for a refurbished unit……anyway this cuts it all short because I was online and the phone to two BMW dealers for most of the afternoon……..luckily I had a screen shot of the original purchase invoice and my local dealer swapped it for a brand new device today. Happy days…..but I did think that a new model from late last year wouldn’t have been affected……time will tell if they’ve ever got to fixing these properly…..I have had and used a Navigator IV for about 15 years without as much as a hiccup.
 

·
Dave in NE TN USA
Joined
·
1,669 Posts
Since this started out as a BMW Navigator Four-Button Cradle Thread . . .

I believe these are quickly becoming NLA new. I just purchased the last one from my dealer. It cost $200 US. Here is the correct info for it:

77528544464 - Mount Cradle - 4-Button 2004-2022 BMW-Motorrad | BMW Motorrad USA

I also needed the handlebar adapter for my new-to-me '12 R12R. I just ordered the second last one from the BMW warehouse. It cost $50 US. Here is the correct info for it:

BMW Navigation Holder R1200R (2011-2014) | online sale | 77 52 8 521 803

For the Adapter, you'll probably also need four new screws for your upper handlebar clamp; these are drilled on top to accept the Adapter being screwed down into them.

For us dinosaur pre-LC non-GPS-prepped R12R owners, these parts seem to be becoming NLA.

Best, Dave
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,367 Posts
...

For the Adapter, you'll probably also need four new screws for your upper handlebar clamp; these are drilled on top to accept the Adapter being screwed down into them.
I occasionally see these for sale by owners who've removed the GPS prep and installed 'normal' bolts. I removed my 'spider' to relocate the NAV, but left the bolts. Some people seem offended by their presence.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top