BMW R1200R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All!

I have been hanging and lurking around here since I bought my 2011 Camhead Roadster back in 2013. I have done some mods over the years and truly love that bike. However as I approach my retirement in a couple of years, I have dreams of touring the country on extended trips. My Roadster is an excellent backroad barnstormer for weekend trips and even extended trips of a week or more, as long as long highway stretches aren't involved or inclement weather.

Which brings me to the RT. I have always liked the RT. The idea of a swift sport touring bike with excellent weather protection and luggage has always intrigued me. In fact I kind of turned my Roadster into a sport touring machine with my Trophy fairing and BMW luggage. But an Roadster ain't an RT and a RT ain't a Roadster. Different bikes from a shared soul...the Boxer Motor!

I first started lusting after an RT during the Porpoise 1100-1150 years and was looking for one when I ended up with a new 1150GS instead. Another great bike, but still not an RT. Put 80,000 miles on that bike including my one and only cross country that lasted a month. Of course it was a great pack mule for that trip and a new GS or GSA would also fill my needs, but they ain't an RT either!

Well, I finally have pulled the trigger!! I have a deposit down on this beauty. A leftover 2020. Yes still on "Stop Sale" but parts are finally coming in for the brake recall, and any minute now BMW will be adding incentives to move remaining inventory before the new revised RT is introduced. Or so my dealer promises, and if history repeats (always does) BMW will be throwing thousands at them to move, just as they did when I bought my new 04 1150GS just as the 1200 Hexheads were arriving in showrooms.