BMW R1200R Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. Newbie here (to the forum and to BMW motorcycles). Have owned a couple Harley's, and a Buell City X. But I've loved the look of the R 1200 R for a long time. Ever since I've seen the Black on Black Anniversary Edition, I've known I needed to own one. Will be ordering in the next few weeks.

I wanted to ask if anyone had advice for a tall rider? I've sat on other BMW bikes, and felt their stance was great for a tall rider (I'm 6 foot 7). For the time being, I'd planned on leaving the bike stock, except for a tank bag.

Is there anything recommended for making it a more comfortable ride?

Thanks for the advice,
Jeff

·
Registered
35 Posts
Might consider a good windshield if you don't mind buffeting.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Hi everyone. Newbie here (to the forum and to BMW motorcycles). Have owned a couple Harley's, and a Buell City X. But I've loved the look of the R 1200 R for a long time. Ever since I've seen the Black on Black Anniversary Edition, I've known I needed to own one. Will be ordering in the next few weeks.

I wanted to ask if anyone had advice for a tall rider? I've sat on other BMW bikes, and felt their stance was great for a tall rider (I'm 6 foot 7). For the time being, I'd planned on leaving the bike stock, except for a tank bag.

Is there anything recommended for making it a more comfortable ride?

Thanks for the advice,
Jeff
If you are buying a new one from a dealer, I would definitely have a conversation with the sales rep about seat adjustment. BMW does have that, although they primarily advocate lower seats heights, they can probably adjust you up if needed.

BMW Motorrad USA

If you look at the catalog for the bike (p56) they have what is called the "high comfort seat"
http://www.bmwmotorcycles.com/us/en...cycle_accessories_flashcatalog.html&notrack=1

·
Premium Member
1,797 Posts