BMW R1200R Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone!

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend.

I'll start with my riding experience:

I started riding about three years ago. My first bike was a Triumph Street Triple R. I liked it but I wanted something with a little more touring ability. I then went with a Yamaha FZ6 that had a top box and side panniers and that was great - until a very close call almost got me hit by a bus. I sold that bike and took a break (it has been about a year or so now out of the saddle) and after a lot more research and a little more discovering of "who I was as a rider", I decided to jump back into the motorcycle game. I've been looking for about two months now, and this gem came along after a long period of patience.

What I'm currently looking at is a 2017 R1200R. The bike looks like it is in wonderful condition - around 2000 miles or so (I've attached some pictures for reference, including the original sticker - don't worry about the red ink, owner says all that is included too). They're asking 11,500. As I live in Hawaii these bikes are quite rare!

Owner seems super informed about the bike (I feel like that is a rarity these days, but perhaps I've never dealt with many mature owners). The only thing that it is missing is some panniers (and I'd really like to get some engine protection if possible).

I'm posting here to gather some wisdom from others; do you folks think this is a good deal?

Any input is greatly appreciated. I'm ser

·
Mark – 2015 R1200R-LC Exclusive
6,509 Posts
Welcome Tim.

That’s a mighty fine example you’re looking at there - barely run in and looks like it’s never been ridden in the rain. The MY17 model has the benefit of transmission/gear change updates as well as the Pro version of ABS (lean angle sensitive).