BMW R1200R Forum banner

Riding in the wind.

6K views 27 replies 18 participants last post by  Paladin 
#1 ·
Hello all,
Odd question, maybe lame, and maybe unanswerable. Ive been riding for 30 years on about 20+ different bikes but have never gone outside my state, Colorado. I am thinking on taking my 2010 r1200r on a ride from Denver to Cleveland in 2 weeks, using three days two nights to get there. Taking back roads and maybe i70 20% of the time. I only have 1 concern, wind. I’ve driven this route 30 times or so in cars, trucks, suvs, uhauls etc. And id say half of the time or more there is enough wind to make me point my truck into it to get gas so my door doesn’t blow of its hinges.
The more I think about it the more I may just want to drive my truck again. Anyone with any wind experience that can say its really not that bad?

I did have an extremely bad wind experience about 3 months ago on near Boulder. The wind pushed me into the gravel, over the white line on the right side of the road and nothing I did was going to prevent me from going over except the wind let off for a few seconds and I was able to get back on the road.
Thanks!
Joe

#3 ·
Wind can be tricky - no doubt about it. The R1200R feels to me like it will be much more planted than my SV 650 was, though. With the SV, in the high winds I'd been through, there were times I was leaned over to about 35-45* off vertical, and it carried it's (lower) weight higher than the R does, so the R should make it less affected with it's higher weight and lower center mass.