BMW R1200R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys!
I just bought my 2012 Classic a new sport seat (I't feel better for me) and a Wunderlich seat bag to go with it :)

I'm thinking of doing some touring next summer and I definately need panniers too. But I personally do not like those bulky hard cases. To me the R1200R is a naked bike that can tour. So I found these panniers from SW-Motech. To me they look great and most importantly the supports can be removed easily for a aesthetically pleasing naked bike look :001_wub:

So any thoughts and / or observations about this from you real touring guys? Am I missing something here? I'm new to this touring thing, all tough I've been riding for 19 years. The BMW is the first bike that in my mind will do this very well (shaft drive, mild consumption, good ergos, etc).

Attachments

Premium Member
The bags look good and if they're big enough for your needs that's all you need. I struggle with the large BMW panniers, topbox and tank bag when I do a 2 week tour, but then I have a wife that likes to take the kitchen sink.

Premium Member
Agree with Dave on "if they're big enough for your needs that's all you need"

I don't really tour that much, and most of the long trips I do are to someones home, so I bring just 2 clothes changes and washed them if need it, my trips to DC need only one backpack that can fin on one of my saddlebags.

You mentioned the supports can be removed easily, but while on the bike thay look ugly:

The BMW saddle bags are awesome, also water proof, and when removed, you really don't see any big racks or anything that resembles mounting points, keeping the bike looking naked and sharp.

Another really important thing (at least for me) is that if you have the Beemer cases, all you need is one key for both and the ignition, and you can park your bike and lock those cases, don't think you can do that with the fabric bags.