BMW R1200R Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finally got one. My ridings skills are not declining nearly as fast as car drivers are getting stupider.

Do I feel safer? A little. Maybe a little might be enough one day. I feel like I'm heading to a construction site, though. I'll get used to it. Can you see me now?

·
Premium Member
1,797 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
For visibility I bought the BMW Airshell, a white helmet and added amber LEDs to the forks on my white bike, a color not at the top of my list, but one that came with a great deal. One of the surprising consequences of this conspicuous set-up is that other drivers think I'm a police officer. In a motorcade town like D.C., I can't say I blame them, but it took me a while to put together. I can't tell you the number of times I've pulled up behind a car in D.C., and the driver unexpectedly slows down. Once, when I rolled up to a car at a stoplight, I watched as the driver very slowly and very casually put on his seat belt. That's when the light bulb went on.

All I care is that they see me.

·
Registered
48 Posts
It all helps but best thing of all in my humble opinion is more training do some advance course aswell.

·
Registered
118 Posts
As a member of the Navy, I'm required to wear one at all times on base, but I still wear it all the time when I'm not on base. yeah, I may not "look" the coolest, but I'd rather be seen and ride another day. I've the ICON military approved neon green one.

·
Registered
5,103 Posts
One of our State jurisdictions here is reputedly considering making these mandatory, same as helmets. Can't argue too much - but they are also considering bringing back the fore-and-aft mounted vertical pedestrian-slicer number plates!

One step forward...

L of S

·
Premium Member
2,873 Posts
Yup. Got one of these HI-VIZ jackets. LED accent lights can add a lot.

Bright color and reflective patches are a great start, but not enough.