BMW R1200R Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The R12R is not a usable bike without some kind of wind protection. Realizing this after getting the stuffing kicked out of me on 101N with southbound winds, I bought the BWM sport windscreen. It arrived today so I grabbed two beers and set to work.

First problem - no instructions. That's okay. I'm an engineer. This should be a 20 minute job. 20 minutes later I found a parts diagram to make sure I wasn't missing anything. Got the bracket installed.

And then i tried to put the original plastic piece on to cover up the wiring. 15 minutes of Jenga later, that **** doesn't work. I tried everything I could think of to get that thing back on with no luck.

Alright. Let's say I'm fine with the wiring showing behind my clear windscreen. I'm not, but for science we can assume that for the time being. I tried to put the clear windscreen onto the bracket.

The holes of the bracket and the holes of the screen don't line up. Unless I bust out a heat gun and get creative, it's not going to come together. Even if I was able to get the original plastic in place, I still couldn't mount the screen.

Has anyone else tried to install this overpriced crap? I'm hoping this is an anomaly because the look is exactly what I want, but the quality is horrible.

·
Registered
5,106 Posts
The R12R is not a usable bike without some kind of wind protection.
I'm bleeding for you, Sugarcrook! The OE Sports Screen is, as I have written before, the size of a thumb-nail and about as useful when it comes to offering any real protection to the rider. It looks pretty sharp, and does a wonderful job of keeping bugs off the front of the two instrument housings, but after that...