BMW R1200R Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I am a newbie motor driver and just have my R1200R model 2011. As I did not drove a lot yet, I have a small question.
I have chosen this bike because it is so universal: not too big, not too small; suitable for long road trips and also for short home-office distances and I could mention a lot of other items.
The question is: at which point is the best way to shift gears? I have heard that it is possible to start even in 2nd gear...?
As it is not a new bike, I do not have to be carefull about the first miles/km.
Do I have to go from 0 to 90 km/h in first gear or should I shift earlier?
I am sure I will get it myself once I ride it, but I just wanted some advice from the die-hards here!

Thanks!

·
Registered
338 Posts
Forget about speed, engine RPM should be the focus of when you shift. There will be various responses as people ride bikes differently.

Personally, if traffic is not an issue I typically shift at 4000 Rpm in suburban/city riding. If I'm merging onto a highway, again traffic permitting I'll shift through the gears at 6000 RPM.

I would not start riding in second gear, even using the clutch as low RPM put a strain on the engine. That is my 2 cents :)

·
Registered
186 Posts
^ i concur with fleuger 99. I wouldn't ever start it in 2nd. But if 1st gear is too torquey and you are having traction issues because you got caught in a snow/ice storm and still have street/summer tires (and I would question how you got yourself in that situation to begin with), THEN maybe I could see you using 2nd gear (that's an extreme case). So generally and 99.9% of the time, no. Properly feather the throttle an clutch and you can take off smoothly. Is it possible to start in 2nd gear? Sure! It's not a good idea though if you value/care for your motorcycle's mechanical well-being.

As for shifting...

*while the bike is warming up, I try to keep the rpm's below 3,500.