BMW R1200R Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings, all -

I have been experimenting with windshields for my new-to-me 2015 R1200R. It came with a BMW screen (clear, 10"/258mm high and 12"/310mm wide) and an MRA (Typ WVM, smoked, about 15"/382mm high and about 15"/382mm wide). The MRA has the little adjustable lip. Neither of these options worked particularly well for me; I'm 6' tall and I was still getting some turbulence around my helmet. I could feel smoother air if I sat up really tall, but in a normal posture, there was still an unacceptable amount of noise and buffeting by my standards. The MRA windscreen was better than the BMW screen, but was still not great. Better with the little lip adjusted all the way down, but not great in any position

I didn't want a 'barn door' windshield - just to get my helmet in smoother air - but a windshield of some sort would get some pressure off my chest. I came across the WRS windshield on their website and it looked slightly taller than the MRA and it was a relative bargain at $86.45. Here is the link.

I installed the WRS screen the other day. It's generally a good fit - the holes could line up better, but they are closer to correct than those in the MRA windscreen. It's a nice size and it works well - very little buffeting, except when passing a big rig, and it is reasonably quiet and smooth at all of the speeds that I rode - up to about 85mph. Overall, I'm happy with it and with WRS customer service in getting the order out promptly.

Automotive lighting Automotive tire Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive design

Hood Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Automotive design Automotive tire

Automotive tire Plant Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Bicycle handlebar

Pete Bansen
Reno, Nevada

·
Mark – Moderator 2015 R1200R-LC Exclusive
2015 R1200R Exclusive
7,383 Posts