BMW R1200R Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,
First off l love my new 2011 Classic. (I have 40 years of Boxer experience)
Installed the Ztech Z2444 over the weekend and did my first test ride last night. (Chose it because it was similar in size to my R1150R Tourig Windscreen)
I did a 100km ride on the highway at speeds up to 90 mph. Into the wind and with the wind.
This barn door size screen really removes all significant wind pressure. Really nice.
BUT..... and here is the but.........
The noise level and micro-buffeting was - for me - unbearable. I could not wait to get off of the machine.
I ended up with a headache that has carried through until today.
Has anyone tried this screen back-to-back with the Z2442 ? I am wondering if there would be any relief from the noise.
Bottom line...it HAS to go !

Premium Member
Rsag, not sure how tall the z2444 is but I had a similar problem with my newly fitted Ztechnic screen. I fitted an MRA spoiler to it and it greatly reduced the noise level.

It may not work for you but here it is...

Premium Member
I have a similar impression of My Ztek. Used one of the Wunderlich spoilers, which is somewhat better. My impression is that it would probably take a higher screen to get rid of the noise and buffeting. . .or a quieter helmet.

Registered
I have the 2442 and it is the best, read quietest and smoothest wind protection I have ever had. At 60 mph with still air around I barely hear a thing and then if I tilt my head 10 degrees forward, silence. At 70 and plus there is wind noise, moreso with cross winds but NO buffetting. A 3-day 900 mile ride netted a windscreen full of bugs and only two on my helmet screen, yet I always enjoyed fresh air. This is miraculous to me after four years on previous bike constantly changing and tweaking to make it better, quieter and never able to accomplish what has been a day one success with R1200R.